All-Russia public organization

About academy. President

Victor G. Schevchenko

Present position: President of the Academy of Security, Defense, Law and Order
Rector of the Academy of National Security, Defense, Law and Order
President of the National Committee of Public Awards

Born on March 28, 1944 in the village of Bogdanovka, Znamensky district, Kirovogradsky region.

In 1964 graduated from the Saratov Higher Command-Engineering School and then served in the Strategic Missiles Forces (RVSN).

Having finished the 311 school of the KGB, served in the Military Counter-Intelligence between 1969 and 1982.

Worked in the Central Office of the KGB from 1982. Headed Military Counter-Intelligence at the RVSN Main Command.

Graduated from the USSR Higher Red Banner School of the KGB, the Russian Governmental Academy of the National Economy and the Russian Armed Forces Academy of the General Staff.

PhD in philosophy, PhD in law, professor.

Member of the expert legal council of the presidential plenipotentiary representative to the Central Federal District, member of the Scientific Council at the Russian Academy of Sciences, First Vice-President of the Academy of the Peoples of the World (New York, United States), full member of the Russian Academy of Natural Sciences. Author of more than 100 research papers, trained more than 30 holders of PhD degrees.

In 1999 won the presidential education award for developing and introducing a training programme called "Theoretical and Applied Principles of the Effective Military Effort" for higher military educational establishments.

Honoured worker of higher professional education in Russia.

For the achievements in developing, testing and serially producing of specialized equipment and ensuring security of special RVSN activities was awarded the Order of the Red Star, the Order of the Military Merit, three orders of the Russian Orthodox Church, as well as medals. Member of the Union of Russian Writers.

Winner of the International Chinghiz Aitmatov literary prize, the Yuri Andropov prize and the International prize of Sts Cyril and Methodius.

Winner of the Ukranian Cabinet of Ministers prize (2004).

Winner of the Russian National award "A man of the Year 2006" in the sphere of security.